…not exercise

Many people dread it, but the thing is, after my workout is done, the feeling of accomplishment is huge. Endorphins are going. My energy actually goes up when I start each morning with exercise. I needed to do it everyday to see change. There are no shortcuts. There is no easy way out. It takes burning calories and burning calories takes hard work.

I hear all the time about how healthy I eat and I still gained over 15 lbs last year because I hardly moved and when I went out to eat, I ate a lot. Now, I am back to my high school weight and it took a couple months of working out every day. What I started doing was exercising first thing in the morning and by exercise, I mean I walked for forty-five minutes.

I started with walking.

Exercise is very important to jump starting my day. I recommend waking up 20-30 minutes early drinking a glass of water, jog/walk/run and drink another glass when you finish. I don’t think it matters how much you move, as long as you’re always adding more. When I started walking each morning, I added another walk at night. Then I added in a one mile jog once a week. Then a two mile jog as well. Then a three mile jog as well. All of these added up.

I try to workout in other ways too. Any amount of free time is potential for work out time.

Throughout the day I am always walking. If your job doesn’t allow this, walk as much as you can. I park far away from the store to walk further. I don’t take shortcuts. I try to stand instead of sit when possible. If I’m standing in a long line, I do calf raises.

One thing that helps me get in the habit is using an app. I use Google because it helps set movement/step goals and if you hit them repeatedly, it asks you to raise them. There is a step goal, movement goal, and “heart point” goal.  I try to hit at least one goal every day.

Zombie Run is a fun one, because it plays an “interactive” story where you are a runner for a human camp. The story plays out in audio form, and sometimes, zombies get near and you have to increase your speed to keep them away (not sure what happens if you fail, or even if it is possible).

For upper body, I was trying to do a workout every other day resistance bands. Same with abs. I would also always increase! If I was able to do ten pushups one day, I did that for a week then did twelve every day the next week. Since then, I have started doing Jiu-jitsu two to three times a week so that has replaced my upper body workout.

What it comes down to, is that you are worth the effort. Whatever your goal is. Whatever you are able to do. You just have to do it. Getting motivated is probably the hardest part, so the only way to keep it going is to do it every day, no excuses.

There’s so many programs, workouts, videos and routines that it is mind boggling. Just choose something and run with it. Change it. But never stop.

Let’s try to hold each other accountable.

What exercise questions do you have?
Could I go into more detail in some of these areas?

Leave a comment